Little things

Last week was a rough week for me for several reasons—none of them Earth-shaking. I had my cardiac tests, waited for results; my oldest son had a difficult tooth extraction; we discovered rodents in the attic of our home in Arizona; and I had computer issues going to the wire for the printing of the memoir that I wrote for my granddaughter. The kindness of friends, family and a stranger made it all easier.

I got an early morning text on Monday from a friend wishing me luck on my tests. Several more came in from family. I was sitting in the hospital waiting room when another text came in from a different friend. “What time is your appointment?” she asked. When I told her that I was there waiting to start, she commented, “I’m there with you in spirit.” She checked in later to see how I fared. Several friends weighed in later in the week inquiring about the results. One friend said she didn’t want to bug me, but was concerned. Their constant vigilance helped me know that I was in their thoughts.

My sister-in-law dealt with the exterminator in Arizona for me and went back to our house a few days later to check to see how things were going—a big relief when I’m 1,400 miles away from what needs to be done.

My husband pitched in and figured out how to set margins for two-sided printing of the memoir. He proofread the document for me looking for spacing issues. I had my fingers crossed when I submitted the final pdf. Months of work went into that document. I’m not sure how it will be received by my 17 year-old granddaughter, but it is a gift from my heart to her.

I am blessed with good friends and family. I fear that I might take their caring for granted at times. It’s always there, a steady lifeline of love. But, I was surprised by the kindness of a stranger when I picked up the finished copies of the memoir. I made nervous small talk with the clerk at the printer saying that the copies looked good and that I was worried when I left the flash drive with them. She looked me right in the eye and said, “It’s beautiful.”

I wonder if it was a slow day at the printer and she read some or all of my document. Regardless, her comment made me believe that she understood my intent in writing it and that my efforts will be worth it.

Where would any of us be without the network of kindness that supports us? I am blessed.

One thought on “Little things

Leave a comment