Version 2.0


What a difference a day makes. I woke up yesterday already feeling a little sad thinking about my winter visit here in AZ wrapping up. Lots of “finals” looming — 

  • The class that I’m teaching here at the community college
  • My yoga class
  • Sunday dinner at my oldest son’s
  • Chance to connect with my granddaughter who has special needs
  • Warm days in the sunshine
  • Lady-of-leisure mornings
  • Naps on the shaded patio
  • Time with my brother and his wife

Then an email popped up in my inbox. My proposal to teach my class, “Tracing Your Path, Sharing Your Life Stories,” was accepted by the community education program at home in Wisconsin. I will teach the class each Friday from 10-12 for six weeks beginning June 8. It will be open to fifteen people over the age of 55 and registration isn’t restricted to any specific geography. 

The class will be pitched as: “Over the course of the six week class, you’ll receive a crash course in human development, the art of storytelling and techniques for accessing and organizing memories to identify pivotal events across life stages. The instructor will help you: 

  • Organize your timeline of rich memories 
  • Appreciate the threads and themes of your journey 
  • Have a deeper understanding of your life’s lessons learned 
  • Be inspired for new adventures 
  • Have a sense of connection to others in the class”

I’ve been revising the content as I’ve been delivering it at the community college here and feel confident that it will continue to evolve each time I teach it. I have a renewed sense of purpose in retirement watching people benefit from the class. Tomorrow I say goodbye to the participants in my class here, but will look forward to working with a new group in Wisconsin this summer. The class is a new chapter in my own life story and one that I hope is as meaningful to the participants as it is to me.

2 thoughts on “Version 2.0

Leave a comment