Superficial

I have a friend, almost as old as I am, who is terrified of getting old. Her Facebook posts are a constant stream of individual selfies. Recently she started using AI to transform pics of herself into perfectly rendered portraits of someone who looks like her but isn’t real. The images are seldom accompanied by text. When they are, the post is usually a cryptic bit of drama designed to solicit questions and/or sympathy. I never respond.

Another friend—considerably younger—(so I’m cutting her slack and hope she grows out of it) also posts lots of pictures of herself. Some of them are elaborately staged and taken by professional photographers. Others are selfies tweaked by Photoshop in dreamy tones of black and white.

Every time their FB pages end up in my feed, I shake my head in that “how shallow” judgmental gesture I perfected decades ago. I was a little surprised this morning then when my FB post contained a very large head shot of me posing in my Arizona house a couple of years ago.

I fumble with technology and meant to post the content of an essay that I had published on an online platform devoted to writers. The post contained the essay but was highlighted by a large headshot of me. I was excited to see the essay published, but I wasn’t trying to call attention to myself. I wanted people to read the article. The essay was about my belief that life stories can connect generations when they are written with candor. That belief is the reason I teach a Life Stories class every winter in Arizona at a local community college. I’ve watched the students share with each other, feel seen and heard in a deep way. I’ve watched them discover things about themselves through our assignments and make sense of their paths of their lives with fresh insight.

I’m a fanatic about the power of stories and thought my article might convert a few believers. I got a slew of likes and a rash of congratulations. I appreciated the kudos, but wondered how many of my well-intended friends looked past the picture of me and the fact that I published and took the time to read the article. Out of the few who read it, I wonder how many took the message to heart.

I thought about my impulsive post this morning, slapped online without a clear context or intent. I wonder how many posts on social media are launched without much thought, leaving a record of who we are left to the casual interpretation of others who scroll quickly through their feed. All the more reason, I think, for us to tell each other authentic stories about who we are instead of feeding each other fake snapshots of our lives.

2 thoughts on “Superficial

  1. I understand your distaste and don’t care for pictures of others who “fake it”– or use pictures to draw self-aggrandizing or negative attention.

    But I am also one who takes selfies more these days, and there are deeper reasons for this. When I became more happy as well as physically healthier after surviving difficult medical and other crises. I finally decided to celebrate that fact with those who knew me from the past (and present). Before then, I had shunned b eing photographed and felt so embarrassed when I was caught off guard. Now I can share who I am as I age (74 now) and feel self-accepting. It signals to my own self that I have made progress as a person to become more open, to share my visual reality as well as facets–and it highlights self-respect, not “a certain look” but feelings of optimism and gratitude. I’m glad my family and friends will have images of me being more fulfilled and happy, enjoying the outdoors, sharing with family, doing much of what I love.

    Thanks for your post–food for thought!

    Like

    1. I’m sure if I saw your selfies I would see a real person engaged in life and not have an impulse to roll my eyes! I’m often the picture taker in the family so there’s seldom images of me. I’m not photogenic and cringe when I see myself when my family includes me in a picture. Most often than not my eyes are closed! I’m getting over it, though. At 77, all that really matters is that I am here and can be with the people I love

      Like

Leave a comment